line up

11 am lunch time in Lawkanandar Monastery in New Bagan. One of the young novices watches me while I lift the camera and capture the group lining up for lunch. And I’m embarrassed – again. Although I’ve been told several times by monks and locals that it is ok I still have the feeling it is not. It’s not only my guilty conscience but also the whole scenery which makes me pensive. Too many parents in Myanmar are simply too poor to raise their children. One common way for a child is to become a novice and live in a monastery where food and education is provided. It’s a good thing, right? Even if life in a monastery is not an easy one…

2 thoughts on “line up

Leave a Reply

