lost in thoughts?

myanmar6

 

 

mandalay7

Photographs of monks and novices are magnetic. They seem to be one of the most photogenic people in the world. It was my first visit ever in a monastery. When I arrived at Maha Gandaryon Monastery in Mandalay I was embarrassed. Hundreds of tourists were watching and photographing the monks and novices lining up to get into the dining hall. I was ashamed to lift the camera, point it at the monks and press the shutter. At the end, I did press it and captured him – a young novice. And I wonder where his thoughts were…

I know it is allowed to photograph in a monastery and I talked to monks later during my journey and they all assured me that it is not a big deal for them and they got used it. Still, it seemed awkward to me.

8 thoughts on “lost in thoughts?

  1. I generally find it not easy to photograph people. I don’t want to be shot, so they may also not like it. On the other hand, people can completely transform your ordinary picture into a piece of art. So we – photographers – will always live with this dilemma…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I felt the same way in Luang Prabang but quickly got over it when I realized I may never have the opportunity again. I understand completely how you felt since it feels like you are intruding on a sacred moment. You captured some beautiful moments, Ms. D.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

